Home > 2012 Reading List, Books, Fiction, In the Media, Other People's Stuff, Something Like a Review, The Blotter, Writing > Something Like a Review – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Something Like a Review – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

This bizarre little book is enough to capture the attention of most curious bookstore browsers. Quirk does a great job with visually stunning covers, and this is no exception. At first glance, it seems normal, but even the most cursory of glances will have you looking back to figure out what it was that didn’t quite meet your expectations. And then you’ll see that the disturbing little girl’s feet don’t touch the ground.

In spite of the old adage/cliche that wore us all down as kids, the cover gives you a good feel for the rest of the story. Unearthly. Unsettling. Not quite right. Of course, I mean that all in the best possible way. This story was more disturbing than I expected, yet positively so. I was enamored of the concept when I caught wind of it last year, and was very happy with what they did with it. The story of Miss Peregrine’s peculiar children was carefully woven around the old photos scattered throughout the book. The story was so well written that the photos gave it authenticity rather than being the obvious seedlings from which it grew. As a writer, I’m envious of what Riggs has accomplished here and I have to agree with this book’s appearance on the New York Times Bestseller List. Kudos to you, Mr. Riggs. A job very well done! I look forward to more from Riggs and Quirk, hopefully together.

I’ve enjoyed Quirk’s offerings previously, but I have to say that this has been the best so far. It is a great, quirky tale that I will enjoy reading again and probably just as much as the first time. After I set it down and reflected on the chills it gave me in parts, I have to say that this is a great intro to horror for the middle grades group. It’s creepy, but not overwhelmingly so, and the combination of an undeniable darkness against the brightness of childhood reminds me of the role playing game Little Fears. The only thing is, I wish I was in a loop like the children; I read this at the beach while on vacation, sometimes curled up under a blanket on an outdoor swinging in the wind to the sound of the crashing waves, sometimes curled up in front of the fireplace. But then again…Well, you’ll see what I mean. Personally, I’d recommend long stretches of unscheduled time for this. You won’t want to put it down once you get going.

And heads up…there are official-type rumors of a sequel… (source and second source) but as funky as the publishing world can be, I won’t start squee-ing until there’s a release date. šŸ˜‰

Medium:Ā Dead-tree version from Amazon.com

Other:Ā Multiple versionsĀ also available fromĀ Amazon.com.

Overall rating: 5 stars

Potential re-read: Yes. Definitely.

Dead-tree worthy?:Ā Yes. Given the nature of the story, I would recommend the dead-tree version unless you have an e-reader that would have really high quality graphics. While the story alone is great, the photos used throughout are a real kick in the pants. The better you can see them, the more of an effect they will have on your enjoyment of the story. I have a 2nd generation Kindle and I can’t imagine that the quality of the pictures would have translated well. Maybe on the iPad version? I’m not sure, but consider this your caveat emptor.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

