Home > Life in General, The Blotter > The Circle of Life

The Circle of Life

Time is a funny thing. On a Friday afternoon, time seems to drag its feet and it feels like quitting time will NEVER come. On days when you have too much to accomplish in 24 hours, it seems to zip by with impossible speed.

And sometimes, a week can change your entire world.

Exactly one week ago, I was awakened by the sound of my phone ringing. My mom was on the other end telling me that my dad had unexpectedly passed away in his sleep the night before. This morning, my phone woke me again, but with the sound of text messages wishing me a happy birthday.

The past week was a whirlwind of chaos and travel frustrations, phone calls, hugs, visitors, food, well wishes, of tears and laughter, of stress and being able to reconnect with people I haven’t seen in years. There were a lot of faces I recognized, though it took being reminded of names to know whose hands were in mine. I’m sad that my dad is gone, though I don’t think it has really registered yet. I spent the week watching over my mom so closely, I really forgot to take a look at what the hell was going on in my own head. I’m supposed to be enjoying a “day off” to indulge in things I wanted to do on my birthday, but instead, I’m doing the laundry that I was supposed to do over the weekend and working (which I haven’t even looked at cross-eyed for about a week), and thinking about the paper I have to finish in the next couple of days. What was supposed to be something of a restful time between classes is going to be a time of chaotic catch-up before the madness begins again.

Even so, I’m going to take the time to enjoy some time with friends, drink a little too much wine (or other intoxicating liquids), eat a little too much good food and just chill out. I don’t know that it counts as “celebrating,” but I’m pretty sure that’s as close as it’s going to get right now.

I will get back to the regular posting schedule with Something Like a Review on A Discovery of Witches next Sunday. Sorry for the delay, but I’m trying to be realistic. Until then, enjoy your holiday feasts and time with family. Even when they drive you crazy and make you want to pluck your eyebrows out with BBQ tongs, they’re the only family you’ve got and you never know when they’ll be gone.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. November 28, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Leave a Reply

