Home > Books, Fiction, In the Media, Something Like a Review, Writing > Something Like a Review – The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Something Like a Review – The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I am not generally a fan of popular fiction. There’s usually something so…commercialized about it that I feel icky even picking it up, and my complaints about the Wonder-Breadiness of are generally well grounded.

When I saw this book popping up everywhere, I was leery. Pimping a book everywhere on the net is not really an indication of quality. I did some research on it in Goodreads, and what I saw there in the reviews was enough to get me past my resistance to purchasing it. When I had available Audible credits, I dropped it in my cart, downloaded it and started listening.

The Night Circus is a rich story that’s difficult to classify by genre. To risk being cliché, it’s a magical story, both in quality and in subject. The descriptions of the circus, of the characters, of the tents and wonders found therein are beautiful, and well-written. The prose is visual, sumptuous and reminds me of a combination between Neil Gaiman and Ray Bradbury. I loved the romance of the story, and by that I don’t just mean between two of the characters, but the romance of the atmosphere, of the world Morgenstern had created. I want to live in that world with Poppet and Widget; I want to be a rêveur and brandish my scarlet scarf in the magical world of black and white.

I cannot think of a story that really compares to this one, which is both amazing and wonderful, but it makes it very difficult to provide a comparison for other stories. One of the things I found unique and enchanting was the way the perspective in the story switched to drop you right into middle of the white paths, standing outside the black and white striped tents. Interludes in the second person created the sensation of falling right into the middle of the story, and while it was a little disorienting, it enhanced the story, making you feel like a rêveur.

The only disadvantage I found in the story is more related to the format than the story itself. I was listening to this as an audiobook and it was difficult to follow the progression of dates preceding the chapter. This is entirely my fault, of course, because I don’t have a knack for remembering dates in general (that’s what calendars are for, duh!) and because I wasn’t listening to the story straight through.

I highly recommend The Night Circus. I loved it and I will be investing in a dead tree version as well.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

