Return of the SLaR!

No, it’s not Wednesday, and you’re not late for work.

No, a SLaR is not some mythical beast from some cult novel you’ve somehow managed to skip during your “obscure novel challenge.” It has, however, been so long since you’ve seen one (if you’ve even seen one) that it will take a few moments to explain. A SLaR is “Something Like a Review” wherein I brag about and/or pick apart a book I’ve found requiring more than just the fast and furious blurb on my “What I’m Reading” page.

I’ve done several SLaRs in the past, and it’s been a while since I’ve had both time and a book I wanted to spout off about, and as it generally happens, I now have several hanging out waiting, impatiently tapping their fingers and jostling each other for position. And you, dear book lover, get the benefit.

Over the next month or so, I’ll be posting a SLaR on Sundays, so set aside your New York Times Book Review for a minute, because I promise mine will be shorter and will include fewer big words. Here’s the tentative schedule, so you know when to look out for a book you’re curious about:

2/19 – Darwen Arkwright and the Peregrine Pact by AJ Hartley

2/26 – 11/22/63 by Stephen King

3/4 – The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

3/11 – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

There will be others throughout the year, of course, but these just happened to pop up all together and demand some attention. I hope you enjoy, and I promise to make the anticipation worth it. 🙂

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

