The Grand Adventure

Now, as you may be aware, I have always had oodles of free time on my hands. Don’t mind me stepping aside for a moment. I hear that intermittent lightning strikes out of a clear blue September sky are a common thing, and something I have a mild phobia of when I speak of all the free time I have that I’d be willing to donate to anyone who may find better use for it.

Right.

So, after reviewing my crazy work schedule, I decided that finally finishing up my degree would be a “Good Idea.” It’s something I’ve wanted to do since I left campus at the end of my sophomore year, but up until now the planets have not aligned in any kind of auspicious arrangement to bring money, time and opportunity together. The fact that it’s remained incomplete for so many years has been something that bothered me tremendously ever since. Until last year. Last year, I did the paperwork to get registered to complete my BA in Liberal Arts in an entirely online format. And then things got crazy and I had to defer it, but this summer, I committed and September first was my first day of school.

It is a great adventure and a huge challenge. I decided to take a “no-brainer” class that would help me get adjusted to the online format and learning to incorporate the workload into my life (a literature class on the horror story that made my black little heart skip a beat), and I selected an introductory psychology class. Here I am in week three. Week two was pretty much hell during which I had a little mini freak-out over the 70 pages of psychology textbook reading on the anatomy and function of the brain (in addition to completing payroll, reviews and trying to stay on top of my feedback schedule with agents). In addition to the required posting, weekly class chat, lecture notes, and work and the OTHER class, it was a challenging week, but I got through it and relatively unscarred.

Unfortunately, it does mean that I may not be as prolific on the site as I have been previously, but it’s all for a good cause. I’m going to try to get a post in a week and schedule it right after my chats for one of the classes. I am still here, but whatever scraps of time I can spend writing, I am and the fiction is taking precedence over the blog. Sad, but true. Gotta have more stuff to feed the sharks, after all. (Though I will admit that “free” time right now means sleeping. I’m not proud of it, but it will take time to adjust.) If I drop off the planet too long, don’t worry. I’ll be back. One class ends in November, so I’ll have a little more time to breathe about then and I’m sure I’ll have PLENTY to say. 😉

Look for an upcoming post about Lovecraft’s “Supernatural Horror in Literature” essay. It tickled, delighted, entertained and intrigued me and I definitely have things to say….

I’ll be baaahck….

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

