An Exciting Announcement

A lifelong journey begins with one step. The lifelong career of a writer begins when a child first holds a crayon and draws a clumsy letter for the first time.

I am absolutely THRILLED to share with everyone this milestone in my journey and career. My first published piece of fiction, a horror novella entitled “The Unbidden,” has been released as an e-book by Post Mortem Press. Here’s the cover art:

Coming Soon to your favorite e-reader!

A tornado rips through a quiet town, destroying resources, knocking out power, cutting off communications with the surrounding area and unearthing ancient tunnels long relegated to children’s boogeyman stories. Lucy Wickersham finds herself uprooted from her childhood home, relocated for her “protection,” and installed as the town historian to chronicle the rebuilding by the self-appointed head of the reconstruction, Aaron Plummer. If the forced relocation by the idealistic Plummer wasn’t strange enough, the children of the town are disappearing, and the sudden appearance of Mio, a young child who speaks only Spanish, forces Lucy into the role of guardian and protector. Mio seems to have answers he can’t articulate about the menace in the dark and may be the answer to saving the rest of the children. Can Lucy save herself from Plummer’s designs, protect Mio and uncover the secrets that will put The Unbidden to rest once again?

“The Unbidden” is already available on Smashwords and will be available on Amazon.com early next week. It will be available through other platforms including Nook, iBookstore, Kobo and Diesel in the near future.

Thank you to everyone who put up with my long periods of silence while I scribbled my heart out, who slogged through rough copies to provide feedback, line edits and spelling corrections, and for those who benevolently kicked my ass with encouragement when I got frustrated. I’m very excited about my partnership with Post Mortem Press and getting this story out there to the world, and I’ll admit that I squealed and danced in my chair like a kid on the last day of school when the cover art was posted to my Facebook page. I think I’ve passed the hyperventilation stage and am enjoying staring at my own name in digital ink on my Kindle!  What an awesome weekend!

  1. June 18, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    I am beyond happy for you, sweetheart. I can’t wait to read the final product. 😀

  2. June 18, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    BTW, the coverart totally fits the piece.

  3. June 18, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    Thank you! I’m very excited and a little worried I’m going to wake up late for work or something. 😉

    Eric at Post Mortem Press did a great job finding the perfect piece of cover art.

  4. June 19, 2011 at 4:51 am

    Congratulations. It feels great seeing that first cover with your name on, doesn’t it? 🙂

  5. Elisa Michelle
    June 19, 2011 at 4:58 am

    Congratulations! That’s definitely an exciting feeling. And I love the artwork for the cover.

  6. June 19, 2011 at 6:46 am

    Congrats! It’s AWESOME getting that ‘we’re happy to tell you’ letter and see you work in print. Looking forward to reading it – sounds like a great boogey man story.
    Kastil let a bunch of us know a writer’s forum. I just wanted to stop in to share the fun.
    *popping a champagne bottle for you!*

  7. June 19, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    Thank you all! Yes, it is a great feeling to see that cover with my name on it. I was so excited I could barely sit still long enough to write the synopsis so it could be posted that same day. Thanks for stopping in. I appreciate the kudos. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

