Home > Life in General > Back to Reality

Back to Reality

Since Tuesday afternoon, I’ve been enjoying the company of someone who is impossibly dear to me. It was a little more than a day and a half of delightful (if, at times, painful and cathartic) conversation, amazing food, wine, bread and cheeses and the best damned brownies ever known to humanity, of tarot, astrology and conversations transcending spiritual and religious boundaries, of music, books, writing and everything and anything that happened to cross our minds at the time. We’ve always been an eclectic pair, only compounded by where our interests overlap and minutely diverge and the passage of time has not changed this. If anything, it’s amplified by our vastly different experiences since we last spent time together.

This morning, I brought her back to the airport and I’m floundering trying to find my bearings in reality.

It’s hard to describe the relationship we have without sounding like some schoolgirl with Bieber fever…but she is my best friend in the entire world. She is the sister that the universe put in my path because we had things to do before we could actually be sisters in that way.

So now, I’m going through withdrawal and trying to find equilibrium again. The longer the afternoon drags on, the more I find myself choked up and blinking away a distinct blurriness in my eyes. I’m so grateful for the time we got to spend together and the selfish part of me is having a little temper tantrum and demanding her back RIGHT NOW!

It will pass and the accustomed absence will eventually numb up again, but right now it’s hard not to pack up my stuff, go home, crawl into bed and just cry until I fall asleep.

Categories: Life in General
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

