Home > Life in General, The Day Job, Writing, Writing Career > An Inconvenient Paradox

An Inconvenient Paradox

It’s my theory that everyone has an “epiphany place,” a place where those grand ideas strike with an open palm slap. From my personal research, it seems as though the “epiphany place” only exists where recording said thoughts is either incredibly inconvenient or impossible. A friend of mine receives epiphanies in the shower. Mine come when I’m either driving or laying in the bubble bath. One of them came today on my way home.

Let me back up just a little bit. The company I work for has significantly higher customer contact volume starting in the spring and letting up late summer/early fall. Our company is also rapidly expanding. We’ve tripled the number of staff in about a year and a half and we’re STILL hiring. Right about now, our volume is escalating faster than our staffing capabilities and there are a lot more demands on everyone in the building than normal. Everyone is doing the best they can, but everyone is stressed out. With so much pressure, I noticed that my desire to write is much stronger and the ideas are better, but when I make time to sit down and write, the quality is much diminished.

Not exactly something to get rid of said stress.

I know that it’s just a symptom and that it will pass, but it’s just frustrating. The pieces I have written are tucked away for now and I’ll review them when I feel I’ve gotten some distance from my emotional reaction to their quality, but I don’t think they’re going to be salvageable. But it’s time to get back to work again. Still more to accomplish before it’s time to call it quits for the day.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

