Time Vortex

Today got sucked into some kind of magical, mystical time vortex.

I blame it on the new office building.

Let me back up just a smidge. Our company is doing some serious overhauls in a lot of different areas. We’re expanding at an epic rate. Last year at this time, there were roughly 30 people in my office. Right now, there are roughly 95.  Suffice to say that our building didn’t expand. Well, I take that back. It did expand…when we cut into the next office and took that over as well. It wasn’t enough, though and some cubicles housed two people. While they’re fairly good sized cubes, they’re not condo sized, by any standards. On the agenda was a swanky new office space with state-of-the-art…well, everything. Over the past few weeks, we’ve been ramping up to busy season, then trying to get a move organized, then Friday was official move day. They told us that Monday morning, the call center agents’s computers would be all set up and ready to go so they’d just sit down and resume work like any regular day. Something told me (and my friend) that this was a pipe dream and we played it safe by getting there early. Good thing. One computer was set up. One.

I’m not IT, but I could get an Academy Award for my performance in an IT role. We hooked up the computers, tinkered with the VoIP settings and finally had stuff up and running. Then came the troubleshooting. Then it was suddenly lunch time.

I did a double-take. When I looked again, it was three-thirty. Next thing I know, my office roomie was getting up and saying good night.

I still haven’t been able to figure out where the hell the day went.

Suffice to say, any spare moment I’ve had over the past week and a half was spent hunched over a rewrite of “Shame” and so far, it seems to be time well spent. Oh…and making the last few adjustments on my Something Like a Review of Dreadfully Ever After. That’s coming up here in just a few short hours. You can’t read the review until just after the stroke of midnight, so come back in just a little bit to find out how it measures up!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

