In my mailbox….

I am so excited by what I found in my mailbox today….

Dreadfully Ever After by Steve Hockensmith

This is the newest release from Quirk Books in the Pride and Prejudice and Zombies trilogy. I’ve flipped through it a bit and read the blurb and I’m so excited to dig in and read. In a way, this post is just a teaser…my “Something Like a Review” will be forthcoming in the next couple of weeks, just in time for the release on March 22nd.

Just to whet your appetite, here’s the synopsis from the Quirk website:

The story opens with our newly married protagonists, Elizabeth and Fitzwilliam Darcy, defending their village from an army of flesh-eating “unmentionables.” But the honeymoon has barely begun when poor Mr. Darcy is nipped by a rampaging dreadful. Elizabeth knows the proper course of action is to promptly behead her husband (and then burn the corpse, just to be safe). But when she learns of a miracle antidote under development in London, she realizes there may be one last chance to save her true love—and for everyone to live happily ever after.

For a little more information, please check out Quirk’s Dreadfully Ever After page.

Here’s to good reading…check back soon for the review!

  1. March 4, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Aha! A month or two ago I talked about Jane Austen updates (here: http://tinyurl.com/6zgxrf2) and I’ve been waiting since then for a knowledgeable verdict on the ‘Pride and Prejudice and Zombies’ phenomenon. I take it from this post that this is a thumbs-up for this particular spin-off. I’m interested to know what the high points are? I can’t help feeling dubious about the idea, but then again I can’t help feeling intrigued either…

    • March 7, 2011 at 8:43 am

      Shortly after it first came out, a zombie-loving geek community I was a part of at the time had it in the cross-hairs and while none of them had read it, they were slobbering over the very idea. I was intrigued enough to download the sample on my Kindle, and after I got through the sample, I was smitten. And giggling. Of all the mash-ups I’ve read (and lately, I’ve read quite a few), this is the most loyal to the original text and the one that would be most plausibly written by the original author. It was clear that Grahame-Smith was really honoring Austen with this book and kept as closely to the original text as the new premise would allow.

      I recommend this one as it’s a great read, and will stand up in the eyes of an Austen aficionado.

      As a sneak peek into what will become a Something Like a Review, my order of preference for the trilogy – Pride & Prejudice & Zombies, Dreadfully Ever After and Dawn of the Dreadfuls. I should have more specifics up by the end of the week. 😉

      • March 7, 2011 at 12:17 pm

        Ohhh there’s a Kindle sample…

        … off I go to read it!

        Thanks for leaving me such detailed info. I’ll stop back later for more on the others!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

