The Work

“What happened to doing the work?”

It was an angry question flung from one character on television to another, but the barb landed in my chest. Yesterday, I wrote a blog entry describing the house my words will build for me and I’ve been thinking about it ever since. Since I’ve been thinking about it so hard, those thoughts lead me back to what I’ve actually done to get there lately. I’m not happy with the answer.

What have I done? More than nothing, but not the kind of work that someone who wants so much should be putting in. Law of Conservation of Energy. Can’t get out of it what you don’t invest to begin with. Right now, I have a WIP waiting for my attention, but I’ve been a delinquent parent. The thing is, this child won’t jump up and down, scream and cry until it gets my attention and the effort it needs to grow into more. Instead, this child of mine will patiently languish in my inattention without uttering a peep. When my focus returns to this lonely little piece, it will be too late. The story that has been written will be there, but the root that’s still inside of me will have died and withered away, and the wellspring dried up. The story will wait, but will never thrive, if it survives at all.

This is something I need to correct. I don’t do resolutions because it is acceptable and expected that they will fall flat before the first month of the new year draws to a close, but I need to find some way of initiating a change, of articulating what I need to do to prevent this from happening. I am seeking the words to translate what I know I need to do into some kind of goal I can set in front of me and strive to achieve. Stay tuned to see how it comes out…

Ahh, the life of the perfectionist is never a dull place. 😉

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

