Living the Dream

…in a manner of speaking, at least.

I know, I’ve been somewhat slack about posting recently. I blame it on the pre-holiday, pre-vacation activity binge. Everything has to be done RFN and it sends me scrambling for days at a time. My writing time was laid upon the altar of the WIP (Work In Progress) and all other writing fell by the wayside.

I am on vacation at the moment, in Kitty Hawk, NC. We are in a beautiful house called “Fragile Magic” and I can say (as I often do when spending a week in a house on the beach) that THIS is the life I want to live. To give you a visual, I’m sitting on the couch in the living room, listening to the waves behind me, the fireplace just in front of me, a cup of coffee steaming beside me and potatoes on the boil for some gnocchi later on. I’ve done little other than read, write and cook for the past two days, and even though it snowed, the impact it had on my mood lasted only as long as it took to clear off the steps and get down to the car.

THIS is what my life should look like.

(It’s not perfect, of course, but it’s good enough. Perfect would require a few modifications, but all things in time.)

I have just finished Anna Karenina. It’s not the first time I read it, but I forgot how it drags after the spectacular climax. The last part was almost excruciating to get through, because I wasn’t engaged in Levin’s soliloquies on faith.

I’m not foolish enough to think I’ll get through Android Karenina in the next couple of days, but my intent is to put a good dent in it, and get a feel for how it measures up against the original before the new year is out. I’ve already met my goal of getting it started as the last book of 2010, so anything I get done with it now is gravy. 😉

Anyway, kids, I’m going to bank a little time writing and then take off to the lighthouses. I’m sure you’ll see more of me before the year is out….

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

