Home > Writing, Writing Career > Lost in Transcription

Lost in Transcription

In my head there are wonderful images. Sublime images. I can see a woman standing in the middle of a snow-covered field, her arms raised over her head, a bundle laying at her feet while snow falls all around her. I can see a brilliant red light trailing across the sky towards her, and hear her singing in a throaty,off-key warbling Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer only to be drowned out by a shrill, piercing whistle.

But all the stuff between where I last stopped on this piece and that image is just not coming forth. I’ve pulled together my pathway of how I want this to go. I know where the stepping-stones are, yet the words seem…hesitant to appear on the paper. I’ve been sitting here for almost two hours, and I have 0 words on paper.

Zero.

Less  than one.

Somewhere between where I started this and where I am today, I lost the path of the story and I’m not sure where. There are no guideposts to look back at. The story makes sense, but not in the way it needs to so I can proceed forward. I’m frustrated and tempted to scrap what I’m working on and start over. Scrapping what I have done worries me because it feels like some vital (mood/tone/words) will be lost if I do that and it will only lead to giving up on the story altogether. That won’t benefit what I’m doing, but I know I can’t just sit here and glower at it, either.

This is one of those moments where I really hate writing.

Categories: Writing, Writing Career
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

