Planning for 2011

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I’m a lazy writer. This may be part of the reason why I set lofty goals and then thrash my way to meeting them. As much as I rebel against structure, I need it. I need goals, accountability, and something to rebel against with fierce gnashing of teeth and grumbling.

So, with that in mind, here’s the preliminary list of Blotter stuff to accomplish between 1/1/11 and 12/31/11:

  • Get all current projects out into circulation through the shark tank.
  • Finish the Cafe Series stories completed, edited and out into the shark tank. All in all, this one is a novel of short stories, though each one should stand on its own.
  • A minimum of one blog post per week, but preferably two.
  • Write a minimum of 1k per day.
  • Track my writing efforts DAILY. (I’m a slackass and forget big gaps, making it difficult to re-create my work over a given day/week/month.)

In addition to the above goals, I’m also setting a reading list goal for myself. While reading On Writing Horror: A Handbook by The Horror Writer’s Association, I came across a list of 21 horror classics recommended by Robert Weinberg. I have read some of these books, but for the most part, it has been so long since I’ve read them they’d merit revisiting. I’m calling it The 25 Book Challenge. Here is the list, along with a couple of added recommendations from the HWA handbook:

  • Frankenstein – Mary Shelley
  • Dracula – Bram Stoker
  • The Ghost Pirates -William Hope Hodgson
  • The Collected Ghost Stories of M.R. James
  • Burn, Witch, Burn – A. Merritt
  • To Walk the Night – William Sloane
  • The Dunwich Horror and others – H.P. Lovecraft (Since I have read quite a bit of Lovecraft, I’m taking the liberty of substituting a the dream cycle anthology I bought a while back)
  • Fear – L. Ron Hubbard
  • Darker Than You Think – Jack Williamson
  • Conjure Wife – Fritz Leiber
  • I Am Legend – Richard Matheson
  • Rosemary’s Baby – Ira Levin
  • Richard Matheson: Collected stories 1-3
  • Hell House – Richard Matheson
  • The October Country – Ray Bradbury
  • Something Wicked this Way Comes – Ray Bradbury
  • The Exorcist – William Peter Blatty
  • Falling Angel – Wialliam Hjortsberg
  • Salem’s Lot – Stephen King
  • The Stand – Stephen King
  • Watchers – Dean Koontz
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde
  • Great Tales of Terror and the Supernatural – edited by Wise and Fraser
  • The Dark Descent – edited by David Hartwell
  • The Essential Harlan Elllison: A Fifty Year Retrospective – edited by Terry Dowling

That is a lot of pages. A lot. And I’ll probably read more, but this is the baseline. Even though I’m wandering through the Byzantine complexity that is Anna Karenina and even though I’m eager to finish it so I can tear through Android Karenina over my vacation, I’m already trying to decide which book in the challenge list I’m going to start when the new year begins….

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

