Under the Wire

I know I usually post a couple of times during the week, and this week has been kind of a quiet one. With the holidays, I assume that most people are wrapped up in the business of family gatherings, decorating, shopping and all the other trappings that come about when the calendar pages turn to November. I assume most of you lurkers have your attention focused elsewhere and won’t notice a few days of silence.

For those of us crazy enough to undertake it, November is also NaNo month. I will admit that it takes a special caliber and nerves of steel to say, “yes, I’m going to drop 50k words in thirty days, especially with a major holiday (and in my case a birthday) right in the middle of this time frame.” For procrastinators like me, I’d say it even requires a little sado-masochistic streak.

Suffice to say I’m feeling the crunch that comes as a deadline looms overhead. The mundane chores of my every day life have ceased to exist. Well, they exist, but I’m ignoring them at least for the next day or two.

As it stands, my official (unverified) word count is 40,004 and I have…oh, roughly 11 hours to complete 9,996 words. I expect this to shrink once I drop it in the NaNo validator, but I know that it will, so I plan to work to about 50.5k to give myself enough of a buffer to clear the hurdle with ease, though I may have to “move” to another time zone for the day. It’s going to be a bit of a nail-biter, but considering I did almost 7k last night on a story that running like a freight train with faulty brakes down the side of the mountain, I’m feeling cocky enough to say that I’m going to make it.

I’m taking bets…care to make a wager?

  1. November 30, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    Three Musketeers, sweetie. You can do this.

    • December 1, 2010 at 10:49 am

      Oh I know. šŸ˜€ Thank you for the vote on the plus side.

      It was touch and go there, at the end, but I had a handful of words over and a few minutes to spare when I dropped it in for validation.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

