Borrowing?

Thanks to the comments I’ve received lately, I fell into a bit of a WordPress hole today, wandering through posts and happened upon this one that posed an interesting question:

Who would you rather borrow from? Your library? Or a Friend?

(Or don’t your friends trust you to return their books?)

And, DO you return books you borrow?

I know this is silly, but I prefer not to borrow.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the library, but my schedule is such that I’m rarely anywhere near it (and awake) while it’s open. Add to that an impressive distractability and  I’m almost guaranteed to be a.) borrowing and not reading but returning on time to avoid fines, b.) borrowing and paying fines to the point where it would have been more cost-effective to buy the book, or c.) borrowing and half-reading the book, returning late and paying fines for something I never finished reading anyway.

I am better about borrowing from my friends, but only marginally. Because my to be read pile is almost large enough to require its own zip code, unless the book is something I have a burning need to dive into immediately, chances are it will languish in the pile for months before I touch it. And I’ll be lucky to remember it belongs to someone else by the time I do read it.

With such uber-American, consumerish habits, I generally “recycle” books through the used bookstore. And if the man who runs the used bookstore isn’t interested in my wares, the library always loves donations! My shameless, consumerish habits become either more books (though fewer, based on the law of diminishing returns), or a tax deduction. Either way, it’s a win.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

