The To-Be-Read Pile

I’ll admit it. I have a problem. Well, not so much a problem, but a book-buying habit. Ok. Scratch that. It’s a problem.

Books call to me. They reach their papery arms towards me and whimper pitifully. It’s painful to pick them up, feel those pages riffle under my thumb as I read the back cover…and then put them back. If the blurb doesn’t interest me, that’s one thing, but when it does and I concede that I either don’t have the money or (more infrequently) responsibility kicks in and I realize I have way more to read than I will get through in decades, it’s an effort to put that beautiful book back on the shelf.

I know I am given to hyperbole from time to time, but I’m not joking or exaggerating when I say I have an entire book case full of books (double-stacked shelves with the space between the top of the books and the next shelf filled with more) and I’ve only read about half of them. Add to that the four stacks of books in front of the case, each measuring between 3 and 4 feet tall. Yes, feet. That doesn’t include the short stack on my nightstand, the downloads on my Kindle or the stack of books I’ve culled from those I’ve read and are awaiting a trip to the used book store. So how do I manage it?

Not terribly efficiently, to be honest. I love books too much to be practical about them and because I often have more than one going at a time, it can take me a while to get through one. My attention span is less than ideal (though it is improving again) and in the past I’ve been pretty notorious about getting bored with a story, putting it down and forgetting about it for a few months while I plow through something else. I am trying to kick that habit, but I haven’t done that completely yet. Oddly enough, reading short story collections has been improving the focus capabilities, though I’m not sure how that paradox comes in to play.

I was so psyched when I got home yesterday because the newest addition to the pile had arrived, and in perfect time! I just finished The Broken Kingdoms by N.K. Jeminsin. Eric, from Quirk Books, stumbled across my “What I’m Reading” page and offered to send me a copy of Android Karenina. When I got home, I discovered that it had arrived and I sat down to start re-reading Anna Karenina in preparation as I had done for Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters. In fact, it’s so exciting, I’m barely getting anything done because all I really want to do is go read!

Present in the Mail!

Alas, other responsibilities await like laundry and dishes and catching up on my NaNo count. I’m behind, but not enough that I’m concerned about not finishing. I hope tomorrow will be a mega-writing kind of day. The SO completed a 5k and is sleeping it off. I expect tomorrow will be much of the same, but that’s alright. More sleep = more quiet time in the house doing anti-social, edifying things I love.

Ok…back to being a responsible adult for a while.

  1. November 20, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    I was going through random blogs and came across this one and thought … Wow … you sound like me. I have an obsession with books and a queue of books that need to be read, but have lately been feeling distracted and not been getting to them. I love going to the bookstore and finding new books and about a month ago I discovered Pride and Prejudice and Zombies … it’s next on my list to read. I’m excited to read it. Happy Reading to you!

    • November 20, 2010 at 11:53 pm

      Welcome, kindred spirit! I completely understand…some women have a closet full of shoes; I have books instead! You will love P&P&Z. Check back and I’ll be sure to let you know about Android too. 🙂 Happy reading and enjoy the hunt for more books!

  2. November 20, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    I know exactly what you mean!! Books call to me too!! I too have a huge pile of books that I plan on reading…..someday…..in my ‘spare time’.

    • November 20, 2010 at 11:50 pm

      Ahh yes…that nebulous “spare time” I always hear about but never seem to really come across. I hope you do manage to find it to dig into the ones you want to read most!

  3. November 21, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Get back to work, Theresa, you naughty girl! BTW, the book thing? Yeah, I have a ton of them.

  1. November 21, 2010 at 9:05 am

Leave a Reply

