Home > Writing Career > Ramping up for NaNo

Ramping up for NaNo

November is almost here and with it, NaNoWriMo. National Novel Writing Month. Thirty days of writing insanity where millions of people (my guesstimate, of course) sit themselves down with the commitment to write 1,667 words a day and end up with a complete novel of at least 50,000 words. Many will attempt it, but not all who try will succeed.

For the past two years, I have cranked out the 50,000 words and pulled together part of a novel, though never actually bringing one to completion. My previous two attempts had weak story lines and characters who need more dimension before they are actually credible and all. Even though those stories could be considered failures (since I never completed them and they have no real ending, incomplete characters and have been left to rot back into the compost laden shadows of my brain), but I’m glad I did them. My first NaNo got me back to writing after a ten year hiatus. NaNo got me through the fear hump of writing…I wrote crap and the world didn’t end. I wrote and even though it wasn’t good, it proved to me that I could do it, and it proved to me that I could get better.

I am a little wary of NaNo this year. I will participate, but right now, my focus is on short fiction. I am digging around in my writing toolbox, honing the skills I have, developing new ones and refining who I am as a writer right now. I will be putting out 50k words worth of story telling, but it will likely be in smaller chunks. The intent is to have at least one of the resulting stories on the market by the end of January.

Yup, so there it is. The first goal of 2011.

Let the good times begin!

Categories: Writing Career Tags: ,
  1. October 20, 2010 at 7:52 am

    I find NaNo a good time. Okay, last year I wanted to burn every word I wrote but the point is, for me, NaNo is a stepping stone to get a novel started. That’s it. I have plenty of them brewing and simmering on the side but that’s the point of it for me.

    Take NaNo to give yourself a break from the SS scene. Once NaNo is complete, go back to it the following month. If you remember, I finished NaNo (or stopped is more accurate) at 50010 words. I stopped once I reached the 50k. I could have continued, I did finished before the deadline by a mile, but I didn’t want to. I was burned out and I think that was because I had concentrated on novels. Novels are frustrating beasties.

    I think I’ll finish my comments on my blog later… but you get what I’m going for here, Theresa.

  2. October 20, 2010 at 8:58 am

    I don’t need a break from writing shorts at the moment, but I understand why you’re suggesting it. Right now, I’m trying to develop my story-telling abilities and bring them to the next level. If I can craft a tight short story, then it will only enhance my ability to write a novel. I know I can write a novel. I’ve done it before to completion….twice. They weren’t great because my skills weren’t great, but the fact is, I did it, and for my abilities at the time, they were a feat. It’s not about proving that I could do it, or even getting the novel started….it’s about craft at this point. I want to excel in story-telling. I want to write stories that are gratifying as a collection of words that incite the imagination, but are more than that at the same time. To get there, I need to start small and grow from a place of deep strength. I’ll get my 50k in, and I’ll enjoy it, but I’m going to do it in a way that is right for me at the same time. 🙂

  3. October 20, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    See now this is why we’re such good friends. Novels I could crank out, it was the shorter ones that I struggled with most of my writing ‘career’.

    I completely understand…. and remember I’m here if you need a crit.

  4. October 21, 2010 at 9:14 am

    I can crank them out but at the moment, I choose not to. I need to refine my skills before I go back to it. I suppose I’m being somewhat nerdy about it, but I don’t want to put out something that could be picked apart like I’m doing with Boneshaker. I know it won’t be beyond reproach, but I’m going to do everything in my power to ensure that once I have a published novel, some little shit like me isn’t going to sit there with a pencil and fill the margins with comments, suggestions on more powerful wording or “was” counts.

    I’ll pass on stuff as I get it ready. I’m procrastinating on the editing front at the moment, so I have nothing but new stuff in the works.

  1. November 14, 2012 at 7:31 am

Leave a Reply

